Pursuant to Chapter 38 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, the Securities and Futures Commission regulates Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited in relation to the listing of its shares on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. The Securities and Futures Commission takes no responsibility for the contents of this document, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 388)

## **Re-appointment of Chairman Approved**

Reference is made to the announcement of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited ("HKEx") dated 23 April 2010 in relation to the re-appointment of Mr Ronald Joseph Arculli ("Mr Arculli") as the Chairman of the Board of Directors ("Chairman").

HKEx is pleased to announce that the Acting Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region has, pursuant to Section 69 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance, today given his written approval of the re-appointment of Mr Arculli as the Chairman with immediate effect until the conclusion of the annual general meeting of HKEx to be held in 2012.

Save for the information disclosed above and in the announcement dated 23 April 2010, Mr Arculli confirmed that there is no other information required to be disclosed under Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited nor there are any other matters that need to be brought to the attention of HKEx's shareholders in relation to his re-appointment.

Mr Arculli's brief biography is available on the HKEx website at www.hkex.com.hk.

By Order of the Board Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited Joseph Mau Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 27 April 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of HKEx comprises 12 Independent Non-executive Directors, namely Mr Ronald Joseph ARCULLI (Chairman), Mrs CHA May-Lung, Laura, Mr CHAN Tze Ching, Ignatius, Dr CHENG Mo Chi, Moses, Dr CHEUNG Kin Tung, Marvin, Mr HUI Chiu Chung, Stephen, Dr KWOK Chi Piu, Bill, Mr LEE Kwan Ho, Vincent Marshall, Mr LEE Tze Hau, Michael, Mr John Estmond STRICKLAND, Mr John Mackay McCulloch WILLIAMSON and Mr WONG Sai Hung, Oscar, and one Executive Director, Mr LI Xiaojia, Charles, who is also the Chief Executive.