Updated : 10 May 2024
Carlson TONG
Aged 69

Independent Non-executive Director since 26 April 2023
Chairman since 3 May 2024
Term of office: 26 April 2023 (appointed) to 2025 AGM
Mr Carlson Tong is Chairman of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited.  

Mr Tong is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of MTR Corporation Limited and the Hong Kong Investment Corporation Limited; and a director of the World Federation of Exchanges. 

He was Chairman of KPMG China and Hong Kong from 2007 to 2011, and was Chairman of the Asia-Pacific region and a member of KPMG’s global board from 2009 to 2011.

Mr Tong has been actively involved in capital markets throughout his career, with deep expertise in corporate governance and regulatory compliance. He served as a member of the Main Board and Growth Enterprise Market Listing Committee of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited from 2002 to 2006, before becoming the chair from 2006 to 2008. 

Mr Tong was appointed Chairman of the Securities and Futures Commission from 2012 to 2018. He oversaw the launch of several major policy initiatives during his term, including the introduction of the landmark Stock Connect programme and the mutual recognition of funds between Mainland China and Hong Kong.
Mr Tong has also been devoting his time to the local community, and was very active in Hong Kong’s education and youth sectors. He was Chairman of the English Schools Foundation, the Hong Kong Sports Institute and the University Grants Committee of Hong Kong.
Mr Tong is a Fellow of both the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW) and the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants. He received the 2022 ICAEW Outstanding Achievement Award, and was awarded an honorary Doctor of Business Administration by the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, as well as an honorary Doctor of Social Sciences by the Education University of Hong Kong. 

Mr Tong was awarded the Silver Bauhinia Star and the Gold Bauhinia Star by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government in 2014 and 2019, respectively. 
Other positions held with HKEX group
HKEX - chairman of Board Executive Committee, Corporate Social Responsibility Committee, Nomination and Governance Committee, Remuneration Committee, Risk Management Committee (statutory), and member of International Advisory Council and Mainland China Advisory Group
The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited - member of Listing Nominating Committee
HKEX Foundation Limited - chairman and director
HKEX Global Commodities Limited - director
Other major offices
World Federation of Exchanges - director (2024~)
Hong Kong Investment Corporation Limited - non-official member of the board (2023~)
MTR Corporation Limited * - independent non-executive director (2022~)
Cathay Pacific Airways Limited * - observer on behalf of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (2020~)
Past offices
Standard Chartered PLC * - independent non-executive director (2019-2024)
Hong Kong University Grants Committee - chairman (2016-2022) and member (2011-2013)
Hong Kong International Airport Authority - non-executive director (2017-2020)
Securities and Futures Commission - chairman (2012-2018) and non-executive director (2011-2018)
KPMG (1979-2011): Asia Pacific chairman and a member of the global board and global executive team (2009-2011), chairman of KPMG China and Hong Kong (2007-2011), and partner of KPMG Hong Kong (1989-2007)
The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited - chairman (2006-2008) and member of Listing Committee of the Main Board and GEM (2002-2006)
Public service
Listing Policy Panel - member (2024~)
Task Force on Enhancing Stock Market Liquidity - chairman (2023~)
Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission - member (2023~)
Independent Commission on Remuneration for Members of the Executive Council and the Legislature, and Officials under the Political Appointment System of the HKSAR - chairman (2017~)
Fellow (Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants and The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales)
Honorary Fellow and Honorary Doctorate (Education University of Hong Kong)
Honorary Fellow (Lingnan University)
Fellow (Hong Kong Academy of Finance)
Honorary Doctorate (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)


*  Listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited